23 Sep 2019 · Actualia (engl.) · DBG

New president-elect and new board member

Prof. Dr. Andreas Meyer (left) and the new president-elect, Prof. Dr. Andreas Weber. Photos: private

On 18th September, Prof. Dr. Andreas Weber from Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf (HHU); Germany, was elected unanimously in the General Assembly during the Botanikertagung to be DBG's new president. The current president, Prof. Dr. Karl-Josef Dietz from Bielefeld University, who holds this position for eight years now, did not stand for re-election. Weber, who could not make it to the Member Assembly, thanked Prof. Dietz for his outstanding work and his exemplary participatory leadership via Twitter. Weber, who will take over the office in January, is speaker of CEPLAS (Cluster of Excellence on Plant Sciences), director of Düsseldorf's Centre for Synthetic Biology and elected member in the Leopoldina German National Academy of Sciences (Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher).
Prof. Dr. Andreas Meyer, chair for Chemical Signalling at INRES of Bonn University was also unanimously elected as new board member. He follows Prof Dr. Brigit Piechulla and will be chair of the next DBG’S International Plant Science Conference (Botanikertagung) in Germany, that will take place from 29th August until 2nd September 2021 in Bonn, Germany. All other members of the DBG board were reelected.